Wednesday, May 29, 2024
HomeSportsBabar Azam became ICC Men's ODI Team captain for the Year 2022

Babar Azam became ICC Men’s ODI Team captain for the Year 2022

On Tuesday  International Cricket Council (ICC) disclosed the names of  ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year, which include 11 players, and Babar Azam the skipper from Pakistan as the team captain. 


In the honored list, no other Pakistani player was named except Babar Azam, the list was dazzled by New Zealand, Windies, and Australian players.

In the statement issued for the announcement of Men’s ODI Team of the Year, the leading cricketer said: “ICC Team of the Year recognizes 11 outstanding individuals who have impressed one and all – be it with the bat, the ball or their all-round exploits in a calendar year.”

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year list includes Shai Hope (West Indies), Tom Latham (wk) (New Zealand), Travis Head (Australia), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Shreyas Iyer (India), Alzarri Joseph (West Indies), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Bangladesh), Mohammed Siraj (India), Adam Zampa (Australia). Trent Boult (New Zealand). 

ICC said in a statement that, “Babar once again demonstrated his skill in the 50-over format, demonstrating why he has ruled the roost at the top of the ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings since July 2021.”

Babar Azam proved his spirits at the international cricket T20, and at other international matches as the most steadfast batsman. He has played some outstanding innings in CPL, BPL, and England Somerset matches. On 16th September 2020, Babar Azam scored a century against Glamorgan during T20 Blast county cricket competitions.

Babar Azam as the striking player has maintained some recordless matches. As an international player in ODIs, he played a joint-fastest score of 1000 runs. In Australia, he is the 2nd Pakistani player who secured a century. And in ODI history he is the 1st player who scored 5 straight centuries.

He scored 3000 fastest runs in ODI the 1st Pakistani player to score such a high rate. After 32 years, in the World cup, he was the 1st middle-order batsman who scored 100. In T20 he scored 1500 runs the joint-fastest batsman, with a leading Pakistani score in the years 2016, 2017, and 2019.

In 2018 and 2019 the Pakistani leading test scored the no.1 batsman in the ICC ranking in 2021.  In the 2022 rankings, he is ranked 4th in the ICC T20. lastly, he is leading the team of ICC Men’s T20I of the year 2021 and is known as the fastest batsman in Asia who scored 11,000 runs. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments